A number of new displays can be seen around the Ground relating to matches or events here at Lord’s. A full list of displays for this year can be seen below.
Rosemary Taylor: The 1975 Ashes Series
Museum First Floor, 3 April 2018 – 1 March 2019
Doug Walters Bowling, The Ashes, 1975 by artist Rosemary Taylor
Rosemary Taylor’s Cricketer Series was painted entirely from analogue terrestrial television recordings of the Ashes series held in England in 1975. The dynamic movement of the fast bowlers captivated Taylor’s imagination and she set about translating the action transmitted through the television set onto the static two-dimensional canvas. In effect she was painting the quickly displaying scan images that created the illusion of smooth, fast motion. Her paintings capture the late 20th century television audience’s experience of cricket, an experience vastly different from what spectators in the pre-television age and what digital TV audiences observe today.
Pavilion Rehang, 9 March 2018
Specialist picture hangers move the Muttiah Muralitharan portrait
The Committee Room and Writing Room have been rehung and are defined by chronological periods. The former is hung with some of the Club’s finest 18th century pictures: The Mason Brothers of Harrow School by Henry Walton, flanked by Thomas Hope by Jacques Sablet and Cricket in Mary-le-bone Fields by Francis Hayman. The Writing Room in contrast favours Victorian pictures that complement the magnificent panorama of Lord’s by Sir Robert Ponsonby Staples. Outside the Writing Room, the focus shifts to the Edwardian era and is centered on the equally wonderful scene of Kent vs Lancashire at Canterbury, 1906 by Albert Chevallier Tayler, which is generously loaned to MCC by the Andrew Brownsword Art Foundation.
Ground Redevelopment Displays
MCC Museum, First Floor, 1 May 2017 – 1 February 2018
A section of the MCC Museum is dedicated tracing and reflecting changes to the landscape of Lord’s Ground. Displays feature architectural plans and photographs documenting the evolution of the Ground.
Sir Pelham Francis Warner and the Warner Stand
There are few individuals who have made such a significant and wide-ranging contribution to cricket as ‘Plum’ Warner. Player, administrator, Test selector, author and editor, his close connection with Lord’s and MCC from his late boyhood to the end of his life led the Club to name a new stand after him in 1958, which was then without precedent.
Prior to the building of the Warner stand, all accommodation for spectators at Lord’s was identified by a letter of the alphabet, running in order clockwise around the ground, beginning with ‘A’ enclosure at the north end of the Pavilion. ‘A’ enclosure amounted to no more than a few rows of covered seating, but behind it stood the ‘coach mound’ a raised area of grass lined with trees from which it was possible to watch the game from the comfort of your own carriage. The building of a modern stand would bring an end to this genteel tradition.
The first proposal to redevelop ‘A’ enclosure in the 1920s was rejected, but by the 1950s an expanding Membership meant an urgent need to increase capacity. In naming the new stand, MCC decided to break with another tradition and honour a man whose connection with Lord’s spanned almost 70 years.